Yubo logo
apple logoandroid logo
Safety

Does Yubo Use Geolocalization?

5 minutes read

- Written by Yubo Team

Does Yubo use your location?

That is up to you to decide! When you create a Yubo account, the app will ask if you would like to allow Yubo to use your location, you can then select “yes” or “no.” Sharing your location is not required to use Yubo, but it does slightly hinder the Yubo experience. Of course, you can change your location sharing settings at any time. Simply go to Settings > Safety and Privacy > Location > here you can turn on or off “use my location” and you can decide if you would like to hide your city as well. We give users full control over their privacy when it comes to the Yubo app and interacting with other users.

Why would Yubo use my location?

As a social discovery app, we want our community to make genuine connections. Yubo prioritizes showing you people and lives that are closer to your location, if you choose to share it. Don’t worry, this does not mean you are always going to be swiping on your neighbors. It simply means you will see lives and people closer to you first. For example, if you live in New York, you will see New York based lives before you see Chicago based lives. But, we also understand the fun in meeting new people from completely different backgrounds, which is why we don’t limit the reach of people you can meet on Yubo. We encourage making new friends, whether they be in the same city or another country.

You can control the regions you would like to see for both swipes and lives!

To change the location settings for Yubo’s swipe feature, head over to Settings, then Swipe Settings (it has its own tab). Here, you will see a location tab, tap it to change your swipe settings. You can choose between three main options: country of location first, all around the world, or country of location only. If you select the country of location first option, you will be able to select the maximum distance away of users to show you. It can be anywhere in the range of 18 miles to 65 miles. That’s about 19 kilometers to 104 kilometers for pretty much everyone outside of the United States. You even have the option to hide your profile from swipes, which means other people will not see your profile in the swipe section.

Once you are at the Live page, in the top left corner you will see a hamburger (the stack of lines, yes, it is actually called a hamburger). Tap it and you will see live filters. If you select distance, yubo will show you lives in order of distance, starting closer and getting farther. On this page, you will also see a location menu, where you can choose specific countries or select the worldwide option. Just like that, you can virtually travel around the world!

How to change location on Yubo?

Changing your location on Yubo is fast and easy. All you need to do is go to Settings > Safety and Privacy > Location. Here you will see a tab that reads, “city.” Simply tap the city tab to refresh your location! You cannot manually enter a location because we believe in creating an authentic user experience and we do not want to give any power to potential trolls. 

Does Yubo use my location when the app is closed?

No, Yubo will never use your location unless you are actively using the app. We do not want to infringe on any of your privacy rights, nor your data. Additionally, we do not share any of your location data with anyone. It is kept safe and secure with us!

What if I don’t share my location with Yubo?

If you decided to disable location sharing on your Yubo account, it won’t hinder the Yubo experience at all! You will still be able to access lives from all around the world, meet people within similar interests in the swipe section of the app, and use almost every feature Yubo has to offer. The only features you will not have access to are the location-based features. These include filtering the swipe radius closer to your location and showing lives closer to your first. Instead, the lives and users will be tailored to you by the country you signed up with if you are even using those features in the app. You don’t need to share your location to enjoy Yubo. Additionally, users who are 17 years of age or younger, you will not be able to share your location at any time. We disabled this feature to ensure the safety of our younger users.

So, if you want to meet new people with similar interests near your or on the other side of the globe, hop on Yubo, the safest place for young minds to connect.

Yubo logo

About

  • About us
  • Newsroom
  • Careers
  • Contact us
InstagramTwitterYoutubeTikTokLinkedIn
  • Terms
  • Privacy
  • Cookies
  • Legal Notice
Made with love in Paris